• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

direct3d book?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 xucaen   Members   -  Reputation: 141

1Likes

Posted 14 July 2012 - 01:55 PM

I have a game design and I want to write it in direct3d. I see there are many books out there on direct3d. But what I want is a book that will walk me through a complete game (or game engine) in direct 3d. I am an experienced programmer so I do not need any beginner programming books, which seem to be most prevalent. Can anyone recommend such a book?

Thanks,

Sponsor:

#2 xucaen   Members   -  Reputation: 141

1Likes

Posted 14 July 2012 - 05:12 PM

These are the best books that I could find, still not sure if they will walk me through a project (I have not purchased them). I am listing them here in case anyone wants to share opinions about these books or make recommendations based on these books. All 4 are available on Amazon. Thanks for looking.

Beginning DirectX 11 Game Programming
by Allen Sherrod (Paperback)

Introduction to 3D Game Programming with DirectX 11
by Frank Luna (Paperback)

Game Coding Complete, Fourth Edition
by Mike McShaffry (Paperback)

Game Engine Architecture
by Jason Gregory (Hardcover)

#3 Inukai   Members   -  Reputation: 1297

1Likes

Posted 15 July 2012 - 03:59 AM

Game Coding Complete, Fourth Edition
by Mike McShaffry (Paperback)