• Create Account

Static is evil, supposedly

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
16 replies to this topic

#1 sliders_alpha   Members   -  Reputation: 107

1Likes

Posted 17 July 2012 - 04:47 PM

Hi,

So i'm a student in information systems, or to put it more simply java based website for corporation.
Recently I've taken quite some interest in making a minecraft clone, because I like learning new stuff and I want a better minecraft.

I'm working on the graphical engine and I noticed that using a static class containing
  • view distance
  • Sector size
  • installation paths
  • an array of Texture (slick object)
Could be really usefull, instead of having to pass down and down those data.

Now, what do you think? is this a good idea to do this? in my line of work static attributes or classes are considered as evil.
It messes up with our unit testing and mocking.

As my teacher say, if you want to do static classes go back to procedural languages, you are doing objects now.

But this is not a information system, so does these rules still apply?

thanks.

Sponsor:

#2 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 18845

4Likes

Posted 17 July 2012 - 04:55 PM

Again this is Java. Static objects have their place, but generally it is useful for constants that get shared. It can be useful to have utility functions. But it is less useful for the information you described.

As you point out, it messes up several things to have data in a static object.