Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Debugging issue.


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 TMarques   Members   -  Reputation: 189

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 19 July 2012 - 02:47 PM

So, will try to keep it simple since I don't expect anybody to solve my problem, I'm just looking for some tips to help me getting started solving the issue.

I have this program which runs fine under "Run", however, when running under "Debug", it crashes and the only information I can get is: No source available for "pthread_join() at 0x3682609080"

What's it meaning, is it too generic for a straight answer?

Language: C++
OS: Linux | Distribution
Environment: Eclipse
Debugger: GDB (Eclipse default I believe)

Thanks in advance!
Tiago.MWeb Developer - Aspiring CG Programmer

Sponsor:

#2 TMarques   Members   -  Reputation: 189

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 19 July 2012 - 02:50 PM

Was supposed to poste this on "General Programming" forum.
Tiago.MWeb Developer - Aspiring CG Programmer

#3 turch   Members   -  Reputation: 590

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 20 July 2012 - 03:12 AM

When running in a debug configuration, the debugger matches the compiled binary with the source code, so you can for example select a line of source code as a break point and the debugger knows which part of the binary to stop execution at. I haven's used eclipse in a while but this should help you figure it out.

#4 TMarques   Members   -  Reputation: 189

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 July 2012 - 04:55 PM

When running in a debug configuration, the debugger matches the compiled binary with the source code, so you can for example select a line of source code as a break point and the debugger knows which part of the binary to stop execution at. I haven's used eclipse in a while but this should help you figure it out.


I guess using multiple threads keeps debugging trickier, I prefer to look line after line until I get to the point it crashes since the code is very small, if I set a breakpoint running in a different thread it won't run since it crashes at the "parent" thread, correct me if I'm wrong.

I think the problem has somehting to do with stack memory reserved for each thread on "debugger mode", since on "run mode" it runs fine, maybe debugger is more memory consuming.

this didn't help me, :), tried consulting mighty google before, to no avail.

Anybody knows how can I move this topic "General Programming"?
Tiago.MWeb Developer - Aspiring CG Programmer

#5 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 19790

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 July 2012 - 04:57 PM

Moved.
Check out my personal indie blog at bryanwagstaff.com.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS