• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

How to use timestamps for packets instead of ticks

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 Angus Hollands   Members   -  Reputation: 717

0Likes

Posted 31 July 2012 - 10:08 AM

Hi everyone!
I've been working on an authoritative server design for a few months, and I've hit a snag.
After working initially with a tick-based approach, simulations break down (prediction and extrapolation) when the client tick rate differs to that of the server.
The server will always have a constant frame-rate, typically 60 fps. However, this may change for the clients, so how can I account for that?

I've read about using time instead of ticks, however here are my following concerns:
  • Time is not an integer - unless you perform multiplication and rounding.
  • Time does not progress at a constant rate with a tick based logic loop, thus states won't be derived at exactly the same time, even if the simulations run at the same tick rate and are started at exactly the same time.
Because of these issues, whilst I can think of how to modify my system to use time, I cannot think how one could access the gamestate that was determined for that time. This is my current idea for a solution: