• Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.

Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!

PHP 'include' a relative file?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 Servant of the Lord   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 21159

0Likes

Posted 01 August 2012 - 02:08 PM

Hi, I'm new to PHP and web development in general.

In a PHP file, I have this:
$jg_globalVariables = array();
$jg_globalVariables['common_folder'] = '../../jg-common';
$jg_globalVariables['subsite_folder'] = '../../jg-subsite';

function jg_GetGlobalVar($key)
{
global $jg_globalVariables;
return (isset($jg_globalVariables[$key])) ? $jg_globalVariables[$key] : '';
}

Then lower down, I do this:
include jg_GetGlobalVar('common_folder') . '/variables.php';
include jg_GetGlobalVar('subsite_folder') . '/variables.php';

The PHP file with that code is located at:
mywebsite.com/wp-content/themes/jamintheme/functions.php

The files I'm trying to include are located at:
mywebsite.com/wp-content/jg-common/variables.php
and
mywebsite.com/wp-content/jg-subsite/variables.php

The error message I'm getting is:
Warning: include(../../jg-common/variables.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/host-user/public_html/mywebsite.com/wp-content/themes/jamintheme/functions.php on line 11

What am I doing wrong?

I thought if I use '.' or '..' to start off the path, it's relative to the current directory.
It's perfectly fine to abbreviate my username to 'Servant' rather than copy+pasting it all the time.