• Create Account

my first rpg

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Donal Byrne   Members   -  Reputation: 150

0Likes

Posted 07 August 2012 - 05:45 PM

ok so Im in my last year of high school and I want to go into a career of game development. So i figure i should start getting some experience making games. I can program in java script and have made about 5 standard games using Unity. Now I really want to make an rpg because its my favorite genre. the only thing is Im wondering if unity is the best way to go about it.

I just want it to be a simple 2d rpg. Ive made 2d games on Unity but I'm wondering if It would just be better to use game maker or game salad or one of those game engines. Ill probably learn more programing from unity but I think it'll be easier to use software like rpg maker or sphere.
Ill will be working with two other people with similar experience.

any advice from people who have experience making indie games would be great thanks

Sponsor:

#2 sebman   Members   -  Reputation: 108

0Likes

Posted 08 August 2012 - 06:09 AM

If you're trying to get more experienced regarding programming. I would recommend C - it's a great language. You can combine it with different engines or frameworks (SDL is great).

#3 Suspense   Members   -  Reputation: 449

0Likes

Posted 08 August 2012 - 08:46 AM

What specific field in game development are you interested in? If it's programming, Unity is probably fine. But you might think about learning the other languages it supports as well as Javascript. You could also find another engine that lets you do some more in-depth programming rather than just scripting. If you go this route, stay away from C and C++ for a while. Other languages will be far more productive for you early on.