• Create Account

Rotate flat surface in 3D space

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Krum110487   Members   -  Reputation: 110

0Likes

Posted 14 August 2012 - 10:02 AM

Ok, I am new to OpenGL and I am having a bit of trouble:

currently I am rotating a texture by using glRotate on the vertex's

GL.Rotate(45, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0);
GL.Begin(BeginMode.Polygon);
GL.TexCoord2(0, 0);
GL.Vertex2(ULx, ULy);
GL.TexCoord2(1, 0);
GL.Vertex2(URx, URy);
GL.TexCoord2(1, 1);
GL.Vertex2(BRx, BRy);
GL.TexCoord2(0, 1);
GL.Vertex2(BLx, BLy);
GL.End();

This works fine, but since it is just a 2d matrix operation all of the rotations are pretty much squashing the texture (it doesn't look like the far side is far away), in the example, I would expect the top to have a smaller width than the bottom width, because it is visible but further away.

this isn't the case, and I understand why (I've taken Linear Algebra :-P)

I am looking to create a 3D FLAT object, would it be a cube where one side is 0 width?
and I want to rotate it in 3D space where the perspective is correct.

I don't really know how to accomplish this yet, most of the code I find makes 3D cubes (although I am having trouble placing my texture on it).

Any help is appreciated.

thanks.

Edited by Krum110487, 14 August 2012 - 10:07 AM.

Sponsor:

#2 dpadam450   Members   -  Reputation: 862

1Likes

Posted 14 August 2012 - 12:45 PM

No idea what you are talking about. What is a flat 3D object? a 2d object...?... a 3d plane?
Using 2D instead of 3D in your gl calls means you dont get perspective, and your objects are 2d.

#3 haegarr   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3966

1Likes

Posted 14 August 2012 - 01:11 PM