• Create Account

When am I qualified?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
14 replies to this topic

#1 gbMike   Members   -  Reputation: 152

0Likes

Posted 15 August 2012 - 05:32 AM

I'm a self taught programmer, with a BS in 3d art and animation. I have a collection of flash games I've built, and I've spent the last year and a half learning c++, and opengl.

But, since I learned everything I know about programming on my own, I have no idea when I am qualified enough to realistically apply for jobs. I've picked up as much as I can on my own, about software development, coding standards, and such, but since I have minimal real world team development experience, its hard to say where I stand as far as my own skill level.

My target companies, would be small to mid range studios. Larger studios would be nice, but I think that might be a bit unrealistic. My question is, what are companies looking for in a portfolio, that displays competence from a self taught programmer? At what point is it a good idea to start sending out resumes and demo reels and the like?

Sponsor:

#2 Orymus3   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6938

3Likes

Posted 15 August 2012 - 07:40 AM

I'll answer with a question:
How do you plan to know if you're on par with industry professionnals?

Sure we could sit and talk about it, but that would be highly subjective.
I'm assuming you know how to make classes in AS3? But that won't tell me if you comment your code sufficiently and organise it efficiently.

My advice is twofold:
- Find some way (preferably someone) that can tell you whether you've reached that level or not.