• Create Account

What are the downsides to using Unity?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
25 replies to this topic

#1 JPTawok   Members   -  Reputation: 111

1Likes

Posted 15 August 2012 - 12:54 PM

I'm a brand new programmer, I've spent some time in classes learning Java, SQL, PHP, HTML, and VBnet. I've been interested in making video games since I was a wee lad, and after spending about a week or so trollin around the forums I've noticed a lot of recommendations to using Unity for beginner developers. I don't feel confident developing a game standalone at this point, and quite frankly don't know where to start.

My questions:

What are the downsides to using Unity?

What would you recommend as an alternative?

Where should I start?

Edit: I should mention I'm interested in a pretty basic 2d game similar to Pokemon. Not for profit, just for fun to get my feet wet. I'll brainstorm with my buddy when the time comes, but for now we just want to develop something for private use, and to expand our knowledge of programming.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by JPTawok, 15 August 2012 - 12:59 PM.

Sponsor:

#2 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6305

1Likes

Posted 15 August 2012 - 01:47 PM

The main downsides are:
* It is a harder to make 2D games with compared to other options such as GameMaker.
* The free version is quite restricted when it comes to "advanced" graphics effects. and the Pro version has a relativly high up-front cost compared to some of the competitors.

Thats about it really,
I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#3 CJ_COIMBRA   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 832

2Likes

Posted 15 August 2012 - 02:28 PM