• Create Account

Can't figure out why same results appear

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 Phil_93   Members   -  Reputation: 146

0Likes

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:59 AM

Hey I'm very new to programming and I've been doing some tutorials to get me used to programming. I've made a program that displays different text boxes depending on the age entered. The age criteria and messages are as follows:

Less than 16: "You're still a youngster."
Over 16 but under 25: "Fame beckons!"
Over 25 but under 40: "There's still time."
Over 40: "Oh dear, you've probably missed it!"

I have made a windows form with one button and a text box and this is the code I have writen:

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
double age;
age = double.Parse(textBox1.Text);
if (age < 17)
{
MessageBox.Show("Still a youngster.");
}
else if (age >= 17)
{
MessageBox.Show("Fame beckons!");
}
else if (age < 26)
{
}
else if (age >= 26)
{
MessageBox.Show("There's still time!");
}
else if (age < 41)
{
MessageBox.Show("There's still time!");
}
else if (age >= 41)
{
MessageBox.Show("Oh dear, you've probably missed it!");
}

However when the age entered gets to figures above 25 the message "Fame beckons!" still appears. I really cant see why the message isn't changing any help would be appreciated as this is really bugging me. Also if anyone could recommend any online tutorials to help me understand programming with C# it would be a big help. Thanks in advance.

Sponsor:

#2 brx   Members   -  Reputation: 672

1Likes

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:03 AM