• Create Account

Help Planning for a Beginner, Wall of text

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 Maxi Ng   Members   -  Reputation: 136

0Likes

Posted 16 August 2012 - 09:27 PM

I've been a business application dev for 6 years, and I would like to create my own game. I know game dev is a totally different beast. So, I am trying to come up with a plan that I could make progress step by step towards my final goal. I did a lot search and start to know a little about game development, but still didn't get the big picture. here is my summary and I'll try to categorize my questions. Hoping to come up with a general plan that every beginner would find informative.

My current progress, a Tetris prototype on irrlicht which do not have animation, wall kick and gravity, a failure.
render a 3D spaceship model which do not move and looks really fake. because it has no light mapping on it (my 3D model friend told me), another failure.

1. Game Basic Mechanism
Different type of game, turn base, Action, etc, has different mechanism. Take Tetris for example, What is the best practice to create different intensity gravity? I thought about it and my best guess is to have 1 rendering thread which render everything on a specify FPS, and another thread with a big loop which calculates positions of all objects. But I have no way to tell if that's a good way to do it. Is there any book that cover basic mechanism for different game types? Does big infinity loop a good way to make game ticks?

2. Graphics