Games in the present

Started by
1 comment, last by WhiskyJoe 11 years, 8 months ago
I am a new game developer, but I have some experience. I was wondering what simple games people get addicted to nowadays. I use c++. Any ideas of what to make would be great.
Advertisement
Hard to say really, everyone is different in what they like. For example, me and my friends really enjoy Mount and Blade, but everyone else on my course think it sucks, and prefers to play Halo, or Call of Duty. It all really depends, You could take a look at a few sites, that may help you get a better idea.

http://www.esrb.org/about/video-game-industry-statistics.jsp
http://store.steampowered.com/stats/

From what I can see, First Person Shooters and WarCraft/Dota based games are the more interested clients, but, really you'd want to be someone introducing a new style to the playing field.

Of course, off note, you said simple, so I guess platform browser games would fit this category, quick and easy to play, casual, dont require you spend weeks on end playing it. A nice little start for a new developer, you could always try Social games for facebook, if you decide thats a good route.

And not to nitpick here, but should this be in the game design section or something similar ?
'Knowledge isn't key, but understanding...'

My qualifcations are not here to showcase, but for those I answer and ask, to get a better idea on my knowledge.

BCS Level 2 Certificate for IT Users (ECDL Part 2)
OCR Level 2 National Award in Business
Level 2 First Diploma in Media
Level 3 Diploma in Games Design and Development Extended
BSc Hons in Computer Games Programming (Current - 1st Year)
Let's ask a similar kind of question: "I want to make a house that everyone likes and I have a hammer, what kind of house should I make?"