• Create Account

Raycasting

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 !Null   Members   -  Reputation: 380

0Likes

Posted 19 August 2012 - 06:20 PM

Hey guys. just before I ask my question, I'm a software engineering student, I'm super comfortable with java and not too comfortable with c++.

A fellow student got me into games design and its only within the last year odd that I've decided to try game programming, so I'm mega n00b.

So I looked up these ancient tutorials on Raycasting and implementing voxel engines. it doesn't seem to standardised.

I kind of understand the theory behind Raycasting but It wont go into my head until I can see some working code that I can mess around with.

can any of you help me out here.

/********************************************************************************\
/**********************He Who Dares, Wins**********************************\
/********************************************************************************\

Sponsor:

#2 saejox   Members   -  Reputation: 714

0Likes

Posted 19 August 2012 - 07:25 PM

you will never need to implement raycasting yourself, unless you want to write your own physics engine.
in ancient times programmer used raycasting to determine what player sees.
nowadays raycasting is only used in game logic level, like did bullet hit player and where.

here is an nvidia physx raycasting code:
NxRay worldRay;
worldRay.orig= cstart;
worldRay.dir= cend - cstart; 
worldRay.dir.normalize(); // direction of the ray
NxU32 nbShapes = gScene->raycastAllShapes(worldRay, gMyReport, NxUserRaycastReport::ALL_SHAPES); // use filters to determine which objects are to catch

#3 !Null   Members   -  Reputation: 380

0Likes

Posted 19 August 2012 - 07:31 PM

I should clarify myself a bit. My friend made a game: