Best IDE for javascript/HTML5 game development

Started by
7 comments, last by Serapth 11 years, 5 months ago
Hi all,

Its my first year making games using HTML5/javascript and it is for Windows 8 (Metro) appstore, therefore I am using VIsual Studio 2012 on top of Windows 8 for developing Metro games using javascript/HTML5.

Now I have another client that wants their game to be in HTML5/javascript but not a METRO app.
what are the choices of IDE(for javascript/HTML5) that is best to use that has features similar to VS2012
like debug/steptrace javascript codes, with autofill/autocomplete/intellesense, etc.

I have searched thru the web and they have many suggestions, I am asking here to get answers from those who develop games not just web applications.

Thanks,
Advertisement
I normally use Komodo IDE, which i had already licensed for Python development and also offers a reasonable level of support for JavaScript.

Aptana seems to be pretty popular, but last time I tried it -- quite some time ago -- it was pretty sluggish, and the code-completion didn't always work.

I've heard good things about WebStorm, but I haven't tried it myself -- anyone here tried it and able to offer some feedback on the experience?

- Jason Astle-Adams

I absolutely swear by WebStorm and I come from a Visual Studio background.

The biggest reason is the autocomplete is easily the best of the IDEs I used. Plus Node integration is a big deal to me

As to debugging, check this guide for an idea

http://www.gamefromscratch.com/post/2012/08/17/Debugging-with-JavaScript-with-WebStorm.aspx
I use Notepad++, however it does not have the autocomplete/intellisense feature that you may be after.
Netbeans also has an ide that you could try.
I can really recommend you to use WebStorm/PHPStorm from JetBrains. The IDE is just awesome.