• Create Account

What program language should I choose? And Why? (I'm a 3d Artist)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 AlexBlin   Members   -  Reputation: 105

0Likes

Posted 21 August 2012 - 08:29 PM

Hi I'm a 3d Artist and I would like to take up programming. I have just about no experience to programming at all. My future goal is to make 2d games and then move on to 3d games and maybe use a game engine such as Unity or UDK. What language should I choose? There are so many and I don't know what would be right for me to start learning.

People have said to learn Java, C# or C++.

- What do you recommend for my first program language to learn?
- How and where should I learn to program? Online video's? Books?
- What are the benefits of this program language and why should I choose it?

I don't have a problem for developing for mobile or pc. (I only have a windows computer though)
- Alex

Sponsor:

#2 Serapth   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5755

2Likes

Posted 21 August 2012 - 09:38 PM

Read this. At the end of the day, nobody can tell you what language is best for you, they can at most give you their opinion. The opinion of a complete stranger is pretty close to useless. Hopefully that guide though will help you, it's full of dozens of opinions. It will give you learning resources, library recommendations and such for each language, so it is a place to get started.

#3 RobTheBloke   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2341

0Likes

Posted 22 August 2012 - 05:37 AM