Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Visual Studio 2012 ruined everything


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
12 replies to this topic

#1 mrheisenberg   Members   -  Reputation: 356

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 08:04 AM

I worked for around a year on a DirectX Framework in C++ in Visual Studio 2010.Then I made the horrible mistake of getting the new one - after I installed it the DirectX SDK samples started having all sorts of problems,I couldn't even compile audio libraries that I could with 2010,I heard others had the same problems after installing it with the new .NET 4.5.It also replaced some of the C++ core libraries I think,because after I spent 5 hours uninstalling this abomination(along with the other 30 things that installed along with it,my project started missing about 120 headers('excpt.h','crtdbg.h','string.h',pretty much everything).I uninstalled both 2010 and 2012,uninstalled all the .NET versions and the SDK and everything,then reinstalled 2010,.NET 4 and the SDK.The missing 120 headers problem still persists...what can I do to fix this?

Sponsor:

#2 Triangles-PCT   Members   -  Reputation: 143

Like
3Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 09:10 AM

Install vs2012 and fix the problems. D3D is now part of the windows SDK.

#3 Erik Rufelt   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3019

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 09:10 AM

Try reinstalling any Windows SDKs too. Just a guess.

#4 mrbastard   Members   -  Reputation: 1568

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 10:44 AM

Interesting. I have 2010 and 2012 installed side by side, and have seen nothing like you describe. My D3D apps compile fine under both.

That said, I *have* seen similar problems using the vc11 rc version - that definitely did overwrite some existing d3d debug libs/dlls and caused some headaches.

The first thing to so is find out whether you actually have the files it can't find anywhere. I suspect you do, and either an environment variable or registry setting left over from your previous install is telling the compiler to look in the wrong place for your headers. The next thing to do is to find out where your compiler is looking for the files.


#5 mrheisenberg   Members   -  Reputation: 356

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 11:04 AM

Interesting. I have 2010 and 2012 installed side by side, and have seen nothing like you describe. My D3D apps compile fine under both.

That said, I *have* seen similar problems using the vc11 rc version - that definitely did overwrite some existing d3d debug libs/dlls and caused some headaches.

The first thing to so is find out whether you actually have the files it can't find anywhere. I suspect you do, and either an environment variable or registry setting left over from your previous install is telling the compiler to look in the wrong place for your headers. The next thing to do is to find out where your compiler is looking for the files.

Interesting. I have 2010 and 2012 installed side by side, and have seen nothing like you describe. My D3D apps compile fine under both.

That said, I *have* seen similar problems using the vc11 rc version - that definitely did overwrite some existing d3d debug libs/dlls and caused some headaches.

The first thing to so is find out whether you actually have the files it can't find anywhere. I suspect you do, and either an environment variable or registry setting left over from your previous install is telling the compiler to look in the wrong place for your headers. The next thing to do is to find out where your compiler is looking for the files.


but I'm running Windows 7 and it required me some .dlls from after the DirectX June 2010 SDK has been made,like Windows 8 dlls,for instance it requires me to have XAudio2_8.dll,even tho the DirectX SDK has only XAudio2_7.dll.Is there a way to download the latest Windows SDK(the one you sad has directx in it and that probably has the .dll i need + the 100 missing libraries) and use it under Windows7?I'm not into buying Win8 right now Q_Q

#6 dilyan_rusev   Members   -  Reputation: 859

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 11:07 AM

Actually uninstalling VS 11 is quite easy, much unlike previous versions. I've been following it since the earliest release after last year's BUILD, and I never had any problems with my VS 2010 install. It is generally a very bad idea to uninstall a system component. And what does .net have to do with c++? Unless you use some of the 3.5+ features, I really don't see any sense in installing it (by default, you've got 2.0 in XP SP3, 3.0 in Vista and 3.5 in Win 7). VS installs a lot of stuff, but so far my experience has been smooth.

Anyhow, I don't recommend installing pre-release versions of VS on your dev PC - I usually do it on a VBox. That way you get to test all the Win8 stuff as well.

I would recommend to try and restore windows. VS must set a restore point before its installation. Just back-up your project on external HDD and restore. Restore has saved my ass quite often. Don't bother with manually installing and reinstalling. I guess there are better backup strategies, but that's what I've used and it mostly works. Best of luck with this mess!

#7 krippy2k8   Members   -  Reputation: 642

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 11:46 AM

I also have VS2010 and 2012 side by side with no problems on Windows 7. It's also no longer pre-release software, so if you were using 2012RC make sure you download the latest release version.

Is there a way to download the latest Windows SDK(the one you sad has directx in it and that probably has the .dll i need + the 100 missing libraries) and use it under Windows7?


You can get it here.

It's the Windows 8 SDK but it works fine for Windows 7.

#8 NightCreature83   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2652

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 02:15 PM

Did you uninstall VS2010 and then tried to install VS2012 as this caused me issues before with 2008 and 2010 without rebooting in between. The only fix I found was to uninstall everything VS related and restart the install procedure.
Worked on titles: CMR:DiRT2, DiRT 3, DiRT: Showdown, GRID 2, Mad Max

#9 dimitri.adamou   Members   -  Reputation: 329

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 02:51 PM

I had this issue. After installing SP1 for VS 2010 (or it was 2012? I forget) all my issues went away - but depends what error were you getting?

#10 mrheisenberg   Members   -  Reputation: 356

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 03:57 PM

I also have VS2010 and 2012 side by side with no problems on Windows 7. It's also no longer pre-release software, so if you were using 2012RC make sure you download the latest release version.


Is there a way to download the latest Windows SDK(the one you sad has directx in it and that probably has the .dll i need + the 100 missing libraries) and use it under Windows7?


You can get it here.

It's the Windows 8 SDK but it works fine for Windows 7.


ok I did all that and most of the libraries are now in place,some trouble was that they slightly renamed most dx headers in the Win8 SDK,but one thing I don't understand - it says in msdn:

Note The D3DX (D3DX 9, D3DX 10, and D3DX 11) utility library is deprecated for Windows 8 and is not supported for Metro style apps.
Create a data processor for a shader asynchronously

for <d3dx11async.h>
Does that mean there is a replacement header for it?I can't find anything about it.

#11 Cornstalks   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6966

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 04:01 PM

ok I did all that and most of the libraries are now in place,some trouble was that they slightly renamed most dx headers in the Win8 SDK,but one thing I don't understand - it says in msdn:

Note The D3DX (D3DX 9, D3DX 10, and D3DX 11) utility library is deprecated for Windows 8 and is not supported for Metro style apps.
Create a data processor for a shader asynchronously

for <d3dx11async.h>
Does that mean there is a replacement header for it?I can't find anything about it.

No, that means it's going away (eventually). It's been deprecated. There isn't a "replacement" header for it. Here's a little note from Wikipedia on it:

In 2012, Microsoft announced that D3DX would be deprecated in the Windows 8 SDK, along with other development frameworks such as XNA, Silverlight, and Windows Presentation Foundation. The mathematical constructs of D3DX, like vectors and matrices, would be consolidated with XNAMath into a new library: DirectXMath.


Edited by Cornstalks, 26 August 2012 - 04:02 PM.

[ I was ninja'd 71 times before I stopped counting a long time ago ] [ f.k.a. MikeTacular ] [ My Blog ] [ SWFer: Gaplessly looped MP3s in your Flash games ]

#12 NightCreature83   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2652

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 06:27 PM


ok I did all that and most of the libraries are now in place,some trouble was that they slightly renamed most dx headers in the Win8 SDK,but one thing I don't understand - it says in msdn:

Note The D3DX (D3DX 9, D3DX 10, and D3DX 11) utility library is deprecated for Windows 8 and is not supported for Metro style apps.
Create a data processor for a shader asynchronously

for <d3dx11async.h>
Does that mean there is a replacement header for it?I can't find anything about it.

No, that means it's going away (eventually). It's been deprecated. There isn't a "replacement" header for it. Here's a little note from Wikipedia on it:

In 2012, Microsoft announced that D3DX would be deprecated in the Windows 8 SDK, along with other development frameworks such as XNA, Silverlight, and Windows Presentation Foundation. The mathematical constructs of D3DX, like vectors and matrices, would be consolidated with XNAMath into a new library: DirectXMath.

The effect part is consolidated in the effect library which you have to build yourself and then link against that lib. This was done because most profesional users didn't like the closed source nature of the library this way you can modify it so it works for your particular problem.
Worked on titles: CMR:DiRT2, DiRT 3, DiRT: Showdown, GRID 2, Mad Max

#13 phantom   Moderators   -  Reputation: 6654

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 26 August 2012 - 06:51 PM

This was done because most profesional users didn't like the closed source nature of the library this way you can modify it so it works for your particular problem.


I suspect it was done not so much because of this but simply because MS didn't want to support it any more :)

I know there is no hint of the effect library in our rendering code down in CT; we do it all with our own constructs and code and I suspect the same is true for other companies too.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS