• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

New to programming -- learning C#

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 skullfalker   Members   -  Reputation: 108

0Likes

Posted 30 August 2012 - 05:53 PM

Hello everyone, Im new to programming and game development all together but i have a hunger to start creating a game. Now first off I'd just like to say that yes i do understand it takes a great deal of hard work, dedication, learning, hours and frustration to create even a so-so game. With that said im not saying "I WANT TO MAKE MY OWN MMO!" No, i understand thats an impossibility. What I am saying is that I would like to eventually create an isometric rts (and yes i also understand that even that is a feat on its own). Secondly I just want you all to understand that I AM THE BIGGEST NOOB EVER! when it comes to anything programming and game dev. So lets asume i know absolutely nothing at all, but i am not completely incompetent, i can learn and i am very passionate about getting into the game dev comunity.

So with all that out of the way I just have a few questions if you all would be so kind to answer them.

I have read that learning C# is probably the best place to start as a beginner in game dev so i have chosen to do so. Is this a good or bad decision?