• Create Account

Landscape to fly over

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 tuppe99   Members   -  Reputation: 125

0Likes

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:14 AM

This answer to this question may be long, but I just need bullet points actually.

I am an absolute noob when it comes to graphics programming, but to get started all I want to do is to create a 3D landscape that I can "fly" over.

What are the steps involved in accomplishing something like that?

Thanks!

Sponsor:

#2 weeska   Members   -  Reputation: 255

0Likes

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:24 AM

Hi,

i don't know how specific you need your bullet points, but steps involved would be something like this:
  • initialise your graphics API of choice
  • create a landscape (procedurally or from a source like a height map)
  • implement navigation
The landscape part can basically done by using a vertex shader to displace a sufficiently subdivided plane's vertices. The navigation part depends on the kind "flying" you want to have, but can be done with some translations and rotations depending on keyboard input.

#3 tuppe99   Members   -  Reputation: 125

0Likes

Posted 01 September 2012 - 05:30 AM

Thanks for the reply :)
The first one I have covered.

My noobness lies with the 2nd one. Since I have no idea how to create one, or even know what an vertex shader is, I guess I need to do some reading first. Any sources/tutorial that can help me with creating landscapes specifically?

#4 JTippetts   Moderators   -  Reputation: 8158

0Likes

Posted 01 September 2012 - 10:07 AM

There are height-map editors that you can use, such as HME.

Or you can use procedural methods, such as Perlin noise or diamond squares.

There are a couple of main ways you can implement a terrain.

1) Heightmap