• Create Account

what to start with?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 igna92ts   Members   -  Reputation: 118

0Likes

Posted 01 September 2012 - 02:55 PM

My goal for now would be to make a 2d game and I got the stupid idead that starting with directx would be better.(I am still learning c++ programming)
So i was wondering which engine or api was better for a begginer (and with this I mean which is easier to use)
I f possible I would like to learn something that will help me undestand more difficult concepts later on. Also I would like to know from these engines and APIs which offers the most possibilities (becuase I don't know which time of game I want to make yet so I need something with what you can do most things)

Sponsor:

#2 AdrianC   Members   -  Reputation: 602

0Likes

Posted 01 September 2012 - 03:00 PM

SFML is great. You should be able to create anything you can think of with it.

#3 Goran Milovanovic   Members   -  Reputation: 1104

0Likes

Posted 01 September 2012 - 04:47 PM

You could give the Blender Game Engine a try. I have a series of video tutorials that might help you out: http://www.gamedev.net/topic/625003-video-tutorials-blender-game-engine/

+---------------------------------------------------------------------+

| Game Dev video tutorials  ->   http://www.youtube.com/goranmilovano |
+---------------------------------------------------------------------+

#4 shadowgamesco   Members   -  Reputation: 326

0Likes

Posted 03 September 2012 - 02:59 AM

I would definitely recommend learning Python using the library Pygame for making 2D games. It's a great place to start and really easy to learn with how much documentation there is lying around. Pygame.org is loaded with documentation!

#5 boogyman19946   Members   -  Reputation: 1052