• Create Account

Keeping parts of the engine separate

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 Theis_Bane   Members   -  Reputation: 312

0Likes

Posted 03 September 2012 - 01:56 AM

After taking the advice of several valuable forum posters, I 'grabbed the bull by the horns' and began coding my very first game: a text adventure! I wouldn't say I'm new to computer programming, but it's been little more than a hobby for me for the past ten years. Luckily, over this past year, things have begun to 'click' in ways they haven't before, and I'm flying through my text adventure's engine. I recently started to comprehend an entity-based design system built around unique entity ID's and a plethora of specific DB queries, so my engine is slowly morphing into something quite interesting. And as I'm not exactly sure of what I'm personally capable of programming, I'm sorta planning my engine as I go (though I do have a very general idea of what I want). Eventually, I'd like to complete a single player game that shows off the engine, and later adapt the code into a MUD. (If anyone has any advice on preparing my engine for that, I'm all ears. I know very little about networking at this point, but I'd like to make future transitions as torture-free as possible.)