• Create Account

Coding gradiant transitions

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
14 replies to this topic

#1 riuthamus   Moderators   -  Reputation: 4864

0Likes

Posted 05 September 2012 - 03:33 PM

We have a small issue with our skybox now. We have been using two color tones and blending them... the issue with this is we are getting the following:

Posted Image

Now, being an artist I know that when I use photoshop if I try to create a manual gradient using two colors is generally a bad thing. You get this procedural look like you see here. When you use the gradient tool you get a very nice and smooth transition from point a - b. Question is, does anybody know how many points they are using to create such a nice smooth look? Is there a better equation or system we should be using to generate the sky? With our HDR in place now I feel that our sky is lacking.... and I want to get the best from it that we possibly could.

Any and all suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance.

Sponsor:

#2 quiSHADgho   Members   -  Reputation: 325

2Likes

Posted 05 September 2012 - 03:49 PM

You could try Atmospheric Scattering to get a realistic sky with nice transitions.
http://http.developer.nvidia.com/GPUGems2/gpugems2_chapter16.html

#3 riuthamus   Moderators   -  Reputation: 4864

0Likes

Posted 05 September 2012 - 03:57 PM

I think we had something like that, problem was for me to get values i wanted... i didnt understand it. And telanor was too lazy to make me a tool to get it to work. I had to load up photoshop, create a subtractive layer and then play with inverse coloring to try to get the right colors. If I ever wanted orange or blue it would totally mess up the entire system.... ( again probably because I did not understand the complex systems behind it. )