• Create Account

Bad php code

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 philipborg   Members   -  Reputation: 331

0Likes

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:38 AM

Hello

I am very new to PHP development and I am currently learning java and php at the same time with integration and I therefor mix them together with the syntax and so. This current code is meant to use an passed in arguments using $_GET and then process them. The current solution is just for temporal development focusing on the client java side. The problem is that not even my temporary solution is working and my IDE does not tell me any errors. I think I messed up with the scope but I am not sure.

[source lang="php"]//Set mode$error = NULL;$output = NULL;try{ $mode = $_GET["mode"];}catch(exception $exc){ $error = "No mode";} //set error to null, results in message to error if set to true//Check to make sure it is an valid userif ($mode == "userVerify"){ if (username == "open"){ $output = "valid"; }else{ try{ $username = $_GET["username"]; $password = $_GET["password"]; }catch(exception $exc){ $error = "No username or password given"; } $output = "valid"; }}//Connection checking, allways returns true if executedelseif ($mode == "connectionCheck"){ $output = "true";}//Check prestige levelelseif ($mode == "userPrestigeLevel"){ $username = $_GET["username"]; if (username == "open"){ $output = "0"; }else{ //Executed if it is not an open user $output = "0"; }}else{$error = "Unvalid mode" . $mode;}if ($output == NULL){ $error = "No output";}if ($error != NULL){ $output = "ERROR: " . $error;}echo $output;[/source]