• Create Account

Starting From The Very Beginning

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 JoyDaniels   Members   -  Reputation: 98

0Likes

Posted 08 September 2012 - 06:00 AM

I'm very new at this, I'm hoping to be able to create games, so I know I'll need to learn programming, but is there a specific language that's "beginner friendly" or easier to use than the others? As far as stuff like Unity3d and Unreal, is there a better choice for beginners to learn that will allow them to get closer to their dream?

Sponsor:

#2 SimLabDevelopments   Members   -  Reputation: 197

3Likes

Posted 08 September 2012 - 07:50 AM

Do you see that search box on the top of the screen? Click into it and type "best language beginner". There's your answer.

Seriously though, irrespective of language, perhaps the #1 skill for a developer is the ability to research and answer questions.

#3 JoyDaniels   Members   -  Reputation: 98

-2Likes

Posted 08 September 2012 - 08:05 AM

Do you see that search box on the top of the screen? Click into it and type "best language beginner". There's your answer.

Seriously though, irrespective of language, perhaps the #1 skill for a developer is the ability to research and answer questions.

If I wanted the "look it up" answer I would've just google'd it in the first place :P I was hoping for something more along the lines of "this one is helpful", "this one is a waste of time, don't bother with it", etc, etc

#4 Serapth   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5180

3Likes

Posted 08 September 2012 - 08:21 AM

Actually, that is exactly what he was suggesting you do. The question is asked, alot, on this site in this very forum. So much so I wrote this guide to answer it. Its a long read but will get you started.

#5 JoyDaniels   Members   -  Reputation: 98