Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Create ocean and character


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Zaín   Members   -  Reputation: 106

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 09 September 2012 - 04:30 AM

I am new to world and character building and i want to create/build a ocean (maybe with some islands) for my ocean sim.
I ask you how to make one, and with wich userfriendly program you can make animated 3d characters and worlds?

If it's necessary: i work with blitz 3d.

Sponsor:

#2 Ashaman73   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 7109

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 10 September 2012 - 06:30 AM

You need a modelling tool, either a free one (blender) or a commercial one (max,maya, but they are really expensive).

#3 Zaín   Members   -  Reputation: 106

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 September 2012 - 03:25 PM

But wich free one do you think is the most easy to use, cause im a beginner with modelling.

#4 Ashaman73   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 7109

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 10 September 2012 - 11:05 PM

There aren't a lot of free modelling tools around which have the quality and features of blender, therefore I would sugguest to learn blender. But it is not easy, no modelling tool is easy, you will need lot of patience and training.

#5 BCullis   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1813

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 11 September 2012 - 10:13 AM

i want to create/build a ocean (maybe with some islands) for my ocean sim.


It's worth noting that most "oceans" in simulators and games are procedurally created: an artist didn't sit down with a modelling tool and make the ocean. It's fairly common to see code-based ocean effects (waves, turbulence, reflection and refraction, water color) done with GPU shader code. A modelling tool could definitely be used to make the islands and/or ocean floor (and any sea critters you want), but the water itself is almost always handled by the sim's code.
Hazard Pay :: FPS/RTS in SharpDX
DeviantArt :: Because right-brain needs love too

#6 Zaín   Members   -  Reputation: 106

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 11 September 2012 - 10:44 AM

I think BlitzBasic doesn't have such commands.
http://www.blitzbasic.com/b3ddocs/docs.php




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS