Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.


Problem with texture. It renders a solid color...


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 ShotoReaper   Members   -  Reputation: 149

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 September 2012 - 12:33 PM

Hi!

When I try to render a model, this appear with a solid color instead the texture.

This is my GLSL fragment code

#version 330
in vec2 in_uv;
out vec3 out_Color;
uniform sampler2D texture0;
void main(void)
{
out_Color = texture( texture0, in_uv).rgb;
}


GLSL vertex code

#version 330
layout(location=0) in vec4 in_Position;
layout(location=1) in vec2 in_TexCoord;
out vec2 out_uv;
uniform mat4 ModelMatrix;
uniform mat4 ViewMatrix;
uniform mat4 ProjectionMatrix;
void main(void)
{
gl_Position = (ProjectionMatrix * ViewMatrix * ModelMatrix) * in_Position;
out_uv = in_TexCoord;
}


I load the texture with SOIL:

GLuint LoadSoilTexture(const char *filename,int w, int h)
{
	ifstream  in(filename,ios::in);
	if(!in)
	{
		cerr << "No se puede abrir el archivo" << filename << endl;
		exit(EXIT_FAILURE);  
	}
	int size = w*h*4;
	char* data = new char[size];
	in.read(data, size);
	in.close();
	GLuint textureID = SOIL_load_OGL_texture(
		"C:\Crate.bmp",
		SOIL_LOAD_AUTO,
		SOIL_CREATE_NEW_ID,
		SOIL_FLAG_INVERT_Y
	);
	glGenTextures(1, &textureID);
	glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, textureID);

	glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, w, h, 0, GL_BGR,  GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, data);

	delete(data);

	glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
	glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR);
	glTexParameterf(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_REPEAT);
	glTexParameterf(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL_REPEAT);

	glGenerateMipmap(GL_TEXTURE_2D);


	 return textureID;
}






I obtain the uniform texture location:

Texture0UniformLocation = glGetUniformLocation(ShaderIds[0],"texture0");
	TextureId = LoadSoilTexture("C:/Crate.bmp",256,256);
	glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, TextureId);
	 glActiveTexture(GL_TEXTURE0);
	glUniform1i(Texture0UniformLocation, 0);

It took several hours looking for the problem and can not find the solution, I hope someone can help me.

Attached Thumbnails

  • crate.png

Attached Files



Sponsor:

#2 larspensjo   Members   -  Reputation: 1557

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 10 September 2012 - 12:55 PM

You don't show the source code for the drawing command, or how you setup the VBO.

It looks tome as if you have not setup the UV coordinates correctly. But the vertex coordinates seem to work.

If you don't setup the UV coordinates, they will be 0 all the time. So you will draw with the pixel color at 0,0.
Current project: Ephenation.
Sharing OpenGL experiences: http://ephenationopengl.blogspot.com/

#3 Yours3!f   Members   -  Reputation: 1395

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 September 2012 - 01:17 PM

try setting the texture parameters before calling glteximage2d

#4 OandO   Members   -  Reputation: 795

Like
1Likes
Like

Posted 10 September 2012 - 01:38 PM

I'm still not entirely familiar with the newer GLSL yet, but you've got "out out_uv" and in in_uv". Surely these variables should have the same name?

#5 larspensjo   Members   -  Reputation: 1557

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 10 September 2012 - 02:04 PM

Either you have some code somewhere that looks something like glBegin(), followed by a number of commands, and then glEnd(). That is the legacy immediate mode. See http://www.opengl.org/wiki/Legacy_OpenGL for more information.

Or you are creating a Vertex array object and a vertex buffer object. That is thee new way to do things. Regardless, chances are that you have incorrect texture coordinates (also called UV).

I'm still not entirely familiar with the newer GLSL yet, but you've got "out out_uv" and in in_uv". Surely these variables should have the same name?

Hm, now that you mention it. Yes, they should have the same name, as you say! Which they don't.
Current project: Ephenation.
Sharing OpenGL experiences: http://ephenationopengl.blogspot.com/

#6 ShotoReaper   Members   -  Reputation: 149

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 11 September 2012 - 07:23 AM

Thanks for the answers! The problem was that out_uv and in_uv don´t have the same name.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS