• Create Account

Timer vs. thread.sleep();

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
13 replies to this topic

#1 EpicWally   Members   -  Reputation: 282

0Likes

Posted 11 September 2012 - 09:51 AM

I am new to Java (and OOP in general) and have recently been trying my hand at programming some basic games. My first two attempts used a Timer, with an ActionListener to call for game updates, which seemed to work pretty smoothly (granted these games only used a text interface.) In preparing for my most recent game (a breakout clone) I noticed another user on the forum using a sleep() inside a game thread. My initial observations of this in both his game, and in my own when I implemented it, was that the speed didn't feel constant, like the game would randomly speed up and slow down, presumably on processor load. Is this just a problem with implementation? Which is the preferred method, Timers, or threads? If it is threads, which my gut feel seems to be, how would you avoid this problem? Should the game thread that updates movement etc be a separate thread than the one that calls for screen refreshes?

Thank you for the guidance.

Sponsor:

#2 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 5718

1Likes

Posted 11 September 2012 - 10:07 AM

Sleep should only be used as a way to preserve the battery on mobile devices (Which tend to behave far better when sleeping aswell), you could include a laptop mode that sleeps for a short period of time after each update if your game is playable that way (don't rely on it to control the speed at which the application runs though), For a desktop game you should preferably grab the system time in your main loop. (updating via actionlisteners and Timer objects is quite a wierd way to go about things but that works aswell)