• Create Account

Navigation Mesh Generation

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 zar2012   Members   -  Reputation: 137

0Likes

Posted 14 September 2012 - 09:04 AM

I've designed a grid-based pathfinding system for a terrain but when the agents on the terrin grows in number, the pathfinding performance falls down. so I decided to generate a navigation mesh. I studied some articles in AI books and search on the internet, read forums but the problem is that I've not figure it out yet where I should start to generate a navigation mesh.

should it be generated automatically or manually? what does it have to do with delaunay triangulation? what is the first step to generate a navigation mesh at all?

now if anybody could help me on this I will be very grateful. I really need to know about these things.

thanks anyway.

Sponsor:

#2 saejox   Members   -  Reputation: 714

0Likes

Posted 14 September 2012 - 10:02 AM

http://code.google.c...castnavigation/

very fast, highly accurate and zlib license.

#3 zar2012   Members   -  Reputation: 137

0Likes

Posted 14 September 2012 - 10:35 AM

http://code.google.c...castnavigation/

very fast, highly accurate and zlib license.

thanks saejox. I know about recastnavigation. but what if I want to programm my own navmesh generator? that is what I would exactly like to do and that is what I need help for. programming a navmesh generator from scratch.

#4 snowmanZOMG   Members   -  Reputation: 807

0Likes

Posted 14 September 2012 - 01:00 PM