• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

low level programming

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
8 replies to this topic

#1 hit   Members   -  Reputation: 113

0Likes

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:22 PM

I've learned C most of C++, some algorithms/Data structures, etc started learning win32 console systems programming, but been discouraged as i wont be able to look at the inner workings like I could with linux. I want to stick to a lower level, so im avoiding api wrappers like MFC, qt, etc

quote from john.c

"In fact, I think it would be an interesting environment for beginning programmers to learn on. I started programming on an Apple II a long time ago, when you could just do an “hgr” and start drawing to the screen, which was rewarding. For years, I’ve had misgivings about people learning programming on Win32 (unix / X would be even worse), where it takes a lot of arcane crap just to get to the point of drawing something on the screen and responding to input. I assume most beginners wind up with a lot of block copied code that they don’t really understand."

I want to evenutally learn both win32, and linux.
Should I learn something else before diving in? Would learning assembly first help?
should i just say fuq it and continue with win32?

any help appreciated

Sponsor:

#2 Hodgman   Moderators   -  Reputation: 31786

4Likes

Posted 21 September 2012 - 11:52 PM