• Create Account

3D calculate new vector with desired length

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 opeca   Members   -  Reputation: 110

0Likes

Posted 01 October 2012 - 12:11 PM

Hello Guys,

I'm quite new in XNA 3D, and new in 3D as well, so I need a bit help about the following issue.

I have two different models on the screen. For the left mouse click I can set the position of the model A, with the right mouse click I can do the same for model B.

To create 3D position from mouse click I use the following method:

public static Vector3 GetPickedPosition(Vector2 position)
		 {
		    var nearSource = new Vector3(position, 0f);
		    var farSource = new Vector3(position, 1.0f);[/font]
[font=courier new,courier,monospace]		    Vector3 nearPoint = Interface.Graphics.GraphicsDevice.Viewport.Unproject(nearSource,
																					 Camera.Projection,
																					 Camera.View, Matrix.Identity);[/font]
[font=courier new,courier,monospace]		    Vector3 farPoint = Interface.Graphics.GraphicsDevice.Viewport.Unproject(farSource,
																				    Camera.Projection,
																				    Camera.View, Matrix.Identity);[/font]
[font=courier new,courier,monospace]		    Vector3 direction = farPoint - nearPoint;
		    direction.Normalize();[/font]
[font=courier new,courier,monospace]		    var r = new Ray(nearPoint, direction);[/font]
[font=courier new,courier,monospace]		    var n = new Vector3(0f, 1f, 0f);
		    var p = new Plane(n, 0f);[/font]
[font=courier new,courier,monospace]		    float denominator = Vector3.Dot(p.Normal, r.Direction);
		    float numerator = Vector3.Dot(p.Normal, r.Position) + p.D;
		    float t = -(numerator/denominator);[/font]
[font=courier new,courier,monospace]		    Vector3 pickedPosition = nearPoint + direction*t;[/font]