Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Ugh. My PC build won't POST. Any suggestions?


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Shaquil   Members   -  Reputation: 815

Posted 06 October 2012 - 07:13 PM

I just put together my own custom PC for the first time, and it won't even POST. I've tried disconnecting all but one RAM card, unplugged the HDD and SSD, unplugged the DVD Drive. The video card appears to be running, since its fan runs and it heats up. The fans on the case and the CPU also run as they should. But nothing comes up on the screen. Any ideas?

Specs:
  • Intel Core i7 2700k Quad-Core LGA 1155
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte Intel Z77 LGA 1155
  • Graphics: Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 3GB DDR5
  • OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Uh I think that's all that's relevant. Is there anything else you'd need to know? Anyway, I hope someone has some input. Thanks

Sponsor:

#2 0BZEN   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2013

Posted 06 October 2012 - 07:24 PM

You have power, and it seems to be on.

So, if it's just no video output on screen, then another video connector (starting on iGPU?). Eventually removing the GPU and trying with the iGPU only.

Otherwise, would start with a internal speaker to listen to POST beeps.

Maybe the RAM settings. Then I would try a cmos reset.

Edited by papalazaru, 06 October 2012 - 07:25 PM.

Everything is better with Metal.


#3 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6035

Posted 06 October 2012 - 07:31 PM

I just put together my own custom PC for the first time, and it won't even POST. I've tried disconnecting all but one RAM card, unplugged the HDD and SSD, unplugged the DVD Drive. The video card appears to be running, since its fan runs and it heats up. The fans on the case and the CPU also run as they should. But nothing comes up on the screen. Any ideas?

Specs:

  • Intel Core i7 2700k Quad-Core LGA 1155
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte Intel Z77 LGA 1155
  • Graphics: Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 3GB DDR5
  • OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
Uh I think that's all that's relevant. Is there anything else you'd need to know? Anyway, I hope someone has some input. Thanks


You might want to check the motherboard manual for the RAM slots, some boards have numbered slots and you have to use the correct slots.

Also, as papa said, try a different video connector, your system will most likely only use one GPU up until the OS starts. (Allthough most systems should use the card when one is installed), also, make sure you got all power connectors plugged in properly, (There should be 2 for the CPU (one big and one small and there might be one or two required for the graphicscard aswell)
I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#4 way2lazy2care   Members   -  Reputation: 782

Posted 06 October 2012 - 07:40 PM

If your video card starts running shouldn't it be past post? Are you getting any beep codes at all?

If it helps, I know when I did my build I ended up unplugging and removing everything except the CPU and adding pieces one by one. I think my problem was similar to what was said about the RAM.

#5 Bregma   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4971

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:04 PM

Make sure all the power connectors the mobo requires are connected. Even the one you forgot. Make sure the molex connector is not reversed (black wires should be touching).
Stephen M. Webb
Professional Free Software Developer

#6 Shaquil   Members   -  Reputation: 815

Posted 06 October 2012 - 10:29 PM

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I thought about just taking all the RAM out and making sure I got a beep from the motherboard to let me know it detected an error. That way I could be sure it was at least working. But then I realized, while checking out my cables, that I had done some weird wiring of the PSU to the graphics card. It wasn't getting enough power as a result, and so it would turn on but apparently not deliver anything to the screen. Swapping that out was a simple fix, and now it works.

Moral of the story if you're having a similar problem: Don't do anything weird with the wires.


Thanks a lot everyone! Now to find a good game to test this out on




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS