• Create Account

Should I dive into linear algebra or follow the prerequisite first?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
10 replies to this topic

#1 Czar05   Members   -  Reputation: 908

1Likes

Posted 12 October 2012 - 07:27 PM

I am currently a high school student taking Calculus with Application and code in my spare time. I am trying to dive deeper into game development and reading up on a lot of diverse topics. I have read on this forum that, unlike calculus, linear algebra has a bigger part in game development. The prerequisite for linear algebra is Calculus 2 and Calculus 3.

So my question is, should I hold off on linear algebra and focus on Calculus 2 and 3 or can I dive into linear algebra without needing the previous topics.

Thanks in Advance.

Sponsor:

#2 menyo   Members   -  Reputation: 428

0Likes

Posted 12 October 2012 - 08:13 PM

I dont know the system how your school or schools in America work. But skipping 2 prerequisites seem a big step. If your a natural in math and with the right commitment you might succeed but why the rush? A better person to ask would be your teacher since he should know if you are able to skip through to linear algebra.

Current Project: TechnoFlux read all about it on my

DEV BLOG

#3 superman3275   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2011

0Likes

Posted 12 October 2012 - 09:11 PM

Schools in America work like this: the class order works well until high school. Then they let you choose between Calculus AB / statistics, linear algebra / Calculus BC.