• Create Account

C++ % Operator Problem

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 Youbar   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 12 October 2012 - 10:53 PM

Hi, I'm just starting out C++ and decided to have an attempt at making a calculator, probably very crude but it works. Anyway, I'm having a problem with the % operator. This is only a portion of my code, but you'll get the gist:

else if(response == 5) {
	   cout << "Remainder" << endl;
	   cout << "Enter first number: ";
	   cin >> fn;
	   cout << "Enter second number to divide and get remainder: ";
	   cin >> sn;
	   float ovrl = (fn % sn);
	   cout << ovrl << endl;
	   system("PAUSE");
	   goto startagain;
    }

The code returns this error:
invalid operands of types `float' and `float' to binary `operator%'

Full code here:
Spoiler

Sponsor:

#2 MrMonkeh   Members   -  Reputation: 130

0Likes

Posted 12 October 2012 - 11:02 PM

I believe the modulus operator (%) only works with integer types. You'll have to convert fn and sn to integer if you want to use it.

Or...a quick search on google and I stumbled upon "fmod". Used like so:
fmod(5.5, 3.5) // takes numerator and denominator
Note: I've never used this function before, so no promises. Though I believe you need to include the math header file to use fmod.

#3 Youbar   Members   -  Reputation: 122

0Likes

Posted 12 October 2012 - 11:08 PM

I don't understand the fmod function...but about the converting fn and sn to integers...wouldn't that remove the decimals and round it down?
e.g 1.2 % 5 would return 0.

Edited by Youbar, 12 October 2012 - 11:18 PM.

#4 RulerOfNothing   Members   -  Reputation: 1150

0Likes

Posted 12 October 2012 - 11:49 PM