• Create Account

Complete Beginner to Game Development

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 XsoodX   Members   -  Reputation: 135

0Likes

Posted 20 October 2012 - 12:52 PM

I know the basics of C++ (Mainly Console applications) and have made many simple text based games, but i want to go further and start 2d (and later 3d) graphics, But i don't know where to start.

Can someone help me find a good book, or a tutorial site, or anything at all to get me started?

Sponsor:

#2 Alpha_ProgDes   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4688

3Likes

Posted 20 October 2012 - 01:01 PM

Note to forums... I may be copying this often Posted Image

Since you've made text-based games, I believe you should go to 2D land. Here's my suggestion on how you should progress.
  • Pong
  • Breakout
  • Space Invaders (credit to GearSlayer360)
  • Missile Command
  • Asteroids
  • Tetris
  • Pac-Man
  • Tic-Tac-Toe (credit to 3Ddreamer)
  • ????
  • Make Money
The reason for this list is because you know how these games work. The rules and how all the parts are supposed to work. So it's easy to go down the list and learn new skills as you complete each game. For a really good tutorial on 2D game development, google for Lazy Foo SDL

Edited by Alpha_ProgDes, 21 October 2012 - 02:17 AM.

Beginner in Game Development? Read here.

Super Mario Bros clone tutorial written in XNA 4.0 [MonoGame, ANX, and MonoXNA] by Scott Haley

If you have found any of the posts helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking the up arrow on those posts Posted Image

Spoiler

#3 Shippou   Members   -  Reputation: 1524

1Likes

Posted 20 October 2012 - 01:13 PM

Here is a good tutorial book, with written in simple English, that also gives practical examples . http://greenteapress...kcpp/index.html