• Create Account

FREE SOFTWARE GIVEAWAY

We have 4 x Pro Licences (valued at $59 each) for 2d modular animation software Spriter to give away in this Thursday's GDNet Direct email newsletter.

Read more in this forum topic or make sure you're signed up (from the right-hand sidebar on the homepage) and read Thursday's newsletter to get in the running!

OOP Help :: Getting started with iPhone dev :: Corona / LUA

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 JustAGuy   Members   -  Reputation: 160

0Likes

Posted 23 October 2012 - 09:14 PM

Hello Everyone,

To keep it short so I don't bore anyone with the details, I want to begin creating games as a side project for the iPhone. I am using Corona SDK with LUA as my language and framework to work with. I am not a programmer, but I work with clients every day to assist them with integrating into our APIs for our company (I work for an online payment gateway). I am familiar and comfortable with PHP and MySQL, but I have never been able to comfortably wrap my head around object oriented design.

I am asking for some help in understanding this concept and hope that some of you from the Gamedev community can assist me with some good tutorials and explanations. I believe learning a language can be easy, but learning the core competencies which help with developing the framework of the game/application is very difficult and applies to all languages. When I try to think about how I will write the code for a game, I get frustrated because I have no idea where to start.

Dazzle me, and test me, I am not afraid of low level languages if you have good targeted tutorials.

I'm just a guy - that's it. 

Sponsor:

#2 JustAGuy   Members   -  Reputation: 160

0Likes

Posted 25 October 2012 - 09:12 PM