new to developing

Started by
7 comments, last by lauris71 11 years, 5 months ago
hi everyone i want to make video games like gta 3 or gta vc, i am new to developing and dont know much about programming, but i want to make a gta 3 typ games, i want to learn how to make a map, and many othe things whiich are in gta games like cars, weapons, missions etc in which we can roam, make missions etc
pls tell me the names of the software which may be required

i hate coding

pls help me.
thanks in advance
Advertisement
It's hard to tell if you are interested in the programming side of game development or something else.

You say you hate coding, but you want to make video games? What is your reason for wanting to develop games?

You're going to have to know how to program, or have a friend that can help with the programming if you want to even begin to make any type of game.
I can promise that you won't be able to make a gta3 clone for a long time if you are just starting. I'd recommend getting Visual Studio, use XNA, and make some very simple clones. Start off with Space Invaders, that one is pretty easy. I recommend XNA, because the community is pretty big, don't start off with something complicated like c++.

Start small, and work your way up slowly

Hope that helps!.
I'd recommend you learn C/C++, get Visual Studio 2012 Express, and buy the tutorials from http://www.gametutorials.com/ along with books.
Welcome!

Please read the FAQ.

Aside from that, you do know that open-world games are large, difficult projects to complete, right?

Finding an engine, learning how to model, texture, and animate, design levels, learning how to stream levels, "mount" vehicles.
What you're asking about is a very, very complex game type and will take lots of hard work from lots of people for lots of time.