• Create Account

Final Year Project

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
2 replies to this topic

#1 Alon3k   Members   -  Reputation: 115

1Likes

Posted 09 November 2012 - 07:27 AM

Hi,

I'm looking on some advice on my final year project.
I'm trying to create a simple 2D Shooter game with destructible environment (e.g. Liero/Worms) and I'm quite capable of doing this.
Problem is I want to have a LAN game mode and i am totally new to this topic. My main coding
language is C++ I do have experience with Java/Allegro 5. During this year i am doing few projects based on DirectX11 but I'm still learning it... for
that reason I'm looking advice on:

- what would be the best library to use for networking ( fast and easy to learn )
- maybe you know any good tutorials that are worth looking into
- should I still use Allegro 5 for that project since I'm familiar with it or should I go for some other library that is quite easy to learn and I could use it for my destructible world ( mostly working on pixels, disjoint and flooding algorithms)
- is it possible to achieve that under 400 working hours?

I would like to make it really simple but the main focus of my project is create networked game.

If you need more information just ask.

Thanks

Sponsor:

#2 slayemin   Members   -  Reputation: 2425

7Likes

Posted 09 November 2012 - 04:12 PM

Considering your C++ background, I'd recommend picking up C# and going with XNA. You can have a simple game up and running in hours or a day (simple, like asteroids).

The net coding isn't too hard in C#, but it will take some planning and effort. Here are some questions to think about:
-What data do you want to send to other players? How are you going to organize it? (you're going to have to serialize and deserialize data off of a "stream")