• Create Account

Advice on Game Concept - (School Assignment)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 D4rkSt4r88   Members   -  Reputation: 108

0Likes

Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:13 AM

Hello all,

I am new to the forum, but have frequently visited GameDev for a while now. I am a college student, in my fourth year to getting my Bachelors Degree in Computer Information Systems. For our assignment, we are to post about our game concept that we've been working on for this quarter and get some feedback on the concept and how reasonable our ideas are, especially in terms of the interface.

My game concept is a survival/role-playing game, set in a post-apocalyptic world (I know, how original, right?) Well, I want this game to be based on realism, a game that will put you in an open world, full of groups of bandits formed for mutual protection, and dangerous animals, no mutants and all that junk, remember I'm going for realism. The main story line will be to travel across the country to try and find your daughter/son, while having to sleep, eat, and drink (safe) water and food, otherwise you'll get malnourished and die. You'll also have to gather supplies for weapons, for hunting, and for creating shelter when necessary. There will also be a bartering system, for the few friendly people you'll meet along the way.

Below, I will list three of my concept ideas for you to give your opinion.advice on, any and all help is greatly appreciated.

1. Hunger/Thirst System - Somewhat unique, and I like the idea, but is it plausible, and would it be fun in a game?
2. Create a Shelter - Again, something unique from what I'm aware of, but does it take the simulation too far?
3. Setting traps/hunting - I thought this would mesh well with the hunger/thirst system, what do you think?