• Create Account

Managed Starcraft 2 AI Bot, SlimDX and C++, COM Interoptability Issues?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
No replies to this topic

#1 jp2011   Members   -  Reputation: 104

0Likes

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:38 AM

I'm new to DirectX. I've made the beginnings of a game in XNA, so I am familiar with the concept of a game loop, with beginning and ending a scene (called SpriteBatch.Begin() and SpriteBatch.End() in XNA), with the basic idea of a texture as 'something drawable'. My unfinished game had a working map, collision detection, and a map editor. So I'd say I'm pretty familiar with C#. But I'm completely new to C++ and DirectX. So I discovered this DirectX book. I've skimmed over the first 5 chapters, where I've learned a bit more. For example, I now know what a pixel shader and a vertex shader is used for. And I also have a very simplified high-level overview of 'the DirectX process': transforming, lighting, projection, clipping, rasterizing.