Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

We need your feedback on a survey! Each completed response supports our community and gives you a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card!


Unity 3D; Black Game View


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
6 replies to this topic

#1 tholland   Members   -  Reputation: 126

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 21 November 2012 - 03:44 PM

I am using Unity 3D v. 3.5.6f4 with Vista Home Premium, 32 bit with SP2.

I have a game program with 3 levels. In two of these, the game view displays the camera view, however, in the other one, the game view is blacked out; in all cases the program is not in run mode. What would cause this anomalous behaviour?

Sponsor:

#2 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6325

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 21 November 2012 - 03:55 PM

separate scene for each level ?

I'd check the camera in the problematic scene first.
I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#3 tholland   Members   -  Reputation: 126

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 November 2012 - 04:05 PM

Thanks Simon for your reply. Yes, there is a separate scene for each level. I don't know if its relevant, but the camera preview works fine in the scene view, it's just that the scene doesn't show up in the game view.

Best wishes

Tony Holland

#4 SimonForsman   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 6325

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 22 November 2012 - 05:10 PM

Have you added the scene to the build list properly ?

If you add the OnLevelWasLoaded method to a script on an object in the problematic scene and put a print statement in it, does it run ?
I don't suffer from insanity, I'm enjoying every minute of it.
The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good ideas!

#5 tholland   Members   -  Reputation: 126

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 23 November 2012 - 02:25 PM

Thanks again Simon

Everything runs ok and the line from OnLevelWasLoaded prints when I load the problematic scene. However, the problem is not with running the game or with the executable, it's with the original scene, which should show in both the scene view and the game view before running the scene code (ie while developing the content).

#6 VanillaSnake   Members   -  Reputation: 132

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 24 November 2012 - 01:45 AM

Look at the main camera in your scene which should usually be under the character controller (your Player). Once you highlight this camera in the Project pane, it's gizmo should also become visible in the screen view, now you can use the regular move tool to drag it around, make sure it's not sitting inside of an object or is otherwise blocked. I'm just starting to learn Unity so I might not have understood your question properly, but hope this helps.

Edited by VanillaSnake21, 24 November 2012 - 01:46 AM.

You didn't come into this world. You came out of it, like a wave from the ocean. You are not a stranger here. -Alan Watts

 

Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana. - Old Wise Eastern tribesman saying


#7 tholland   Members   -  Reputation: 126

Like
0Likes
Like

Posted 24 November 2012 - 04:17 PM

Thanks for this suggestion, VanillaSnake, but It's not the solution; the main camera works fine in the camera preview and isn't blocked by any other object.

Best wishes

Tony Holland




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS