• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

We're also offering banner ads on our site from just $5! 1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

How to tackle designing?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 Lewis De Angelo   Members   -  Reputation: 108

0Likes

Posted 23 November 2012 - 04:38 PM

I'm an SDL newbie and I'm competent with the fundamentals of C++. How should I design a game prior? I've tried thinking of the objects I require but that resulted in incoherent spagetti code. Thanks Posted Image

Sponsor:

#2 frob   Moderators   -  Reputation: 22235

3Likes

Posted 23 November 2012 - 07:32 PM

Start with hello world.

Then move on to pong or tic tac toe.

Then move on to tetris or a similar falling block game.

Then move on to a side scroller.

Taking too large of steps results in nightmares, frustration, and loss of hope. Take small steps.

Check out my book, Game Development with Unity, aimed at beginners who want to build fun games fast.

Also check out my personal website at bryanwagstaff.com, where I write about assorted stuff.

#3 Tom Sloper   Moderators   -  Reputation: 10067

2Likes

Posted 23 November 2012 - 08:34 PM

How should I design a game prior? I've tried thinking of the objects I require but that resulted in incoherent spagetti code.