• Create Account

Does anyone else struggle with problem solving?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
23 replies to this topic

#1 Bill Fountaine   Members   -  Reputation: 193

2Likes

Posted 29 November 2012 - 01:17 PM

I understand what the syntax for the languages do, how to use them, etc.

Problem is. When it comes to solving a problem (ie making a simple console game of tic-tac-toe). I struggle to figure out HOW to solve it, like what variables, etc are needed. Is there a way around this? I have a book called "How to Think Like A Programmer". But is this really something I can work around?

Sponsor:

#2 BeerNutts   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2945

1Likes

Posted 29 November 2012 - 01:25 PM

This mostly just comes with experience. When I started programming (which was well before the internet mind you), my solutions to solving problems were horrible. I had limited knowledge of HOW to solve the problems, so I solved them the only way I knew, which was massive global variables, goto's, and other ugly practices.

But, I kept working at it, kept reading books and I had a friend who programmed as well, and we would bounce ideas off each other (what the internet is good for these days). Eventually, i got better at it, learned new ways to solve problems, and I could make new things.

So, I'd say stick with it. It's not going to be easy, but eventually, things will start to "click" and you'll woner why you didn't think of that before. Good luck!
My Gamedev Journal: 2D Game Making, the Easy Way

---(Old Blog, still has good info): 2dGameMaking
-----
"No one ever posts on that message board; it's too crowded." - Yoga Berra (sorta)

#3 Radikalizm   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 2884

2Likes

Posted 29 November 2012 - 01:32 PM