• Create Account

Noob question.

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 CAREFiSH   Members   -  Reputation: 103

0Likes

Posted 30 November 2012 - 06:00 PM

Hey there people from GameDev!

I'm a relatively new game developer, started learning C++ about 6 months ago. And I decided to do a simple string class exercise.
Now I'm running into a problem, I can't seem to get it to work without it crashing.
I'll post the pastebins for the code.
.h: http://pastebin.com/dbBWGDRV
.cpp: http://pastebin.com/tGSFz6K7
And finally, the main:
[source lang="cpp"]#include "CFString.h"#include <cstdlib>int main(int argc, char* args[]){ CFString bla = "hoi"; printf(bla); return 0;}[/source]
Now, it's crashing and I don't really understand why. Any pointers/hints?

EDIT:: I've tried to add a '0' after the strncpy, I've tried setting strdata to NULL.

Edited by CAREFiSH, 30 November 2012 - 06:02 PM.

Sponsor:

#2 SiCrane   Moderators   -  Reputation: 9337

0Likes

Posted 30 November 2012 - 06:22 PM

The problem is probably in one of your strlen() calls. strlen() uses the null terminator to determine string length. However, you call strlen() on strings you haven't added the null terminator to in order to figure out where to put the null terminator. You'd probably be better off calling strlen() once in your constructors and store that length in a variable rather the repeatedly calling strlen().

#3 CAREFiSH   Members   -  Reputation: 103

0Likes

Posted 30 November 2012 - 06:48 PM

Hmm, I will do that! And it's fixed! In the CFString::CFString(const CFString& str) function there's a strlen() on strdata, that should've been str.strdata :) Thanks anyway!

#4 kuramayoko10   Members   -  Reputation: 386

0Likes

Posted 30 November 2012 - 07:47 PM

I have a question.