• Create Account

2d bin packing + selective grouping of objects (?)

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
5 replies to this topic

#1 Pixbae   Members   -  Reputation: 101

0Likes

Posted 04 December 2012 - 11:50 AM

Hi everyone!

Let me introduce myself, my name is Francisco and I'm an architecture student. I've recently become interested in algorithmic design, which is basically utilizing math to help design (an example would be structure or space optimization). To contextualize, I'm a noob with numbers, so as far as algorithmic architecture goes, I´ve just played with some tools that help with it (Rhino Grasshopper for example, which is a 3d parametric modeler).

I want to develop a software in which I input areas (represented by rectangles) and it organizes them and presents me various possible solutions to a floor plan. I will learn programming to try and develop this, but I have so little knowledge in programming that I don't know how to tackle the problem directly.

The problem consists in trying to group a bunch of rectangles in the least possible space (not within a container, no boundaries). at the same time, I want some of these rectangles to be closer to others, so there is a hierarchy of proximity between rectangles. For example, if I wanted various possibilites of a house floor plan, I'd input spaces such as kitchen, dinning room, living room, bedrooms, etc., and it would not only group them in little space, but also ubicate them according to desirable proximities (kitchen - dinning room for example) and viceversa.

So basically, it would be some sort of 2d bin packing, but is there a way to control how the objects "pack" so I have the desirable proximities between them?