Jump to content

  • Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account


Webpage Compatibility of GameDev


Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

  • You cannot reply to this topic
17 replies to this topic

#1 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 07 December 2012 - 07:19 PM

Hello, everyone


I still have to use the compatibility tab of the Windows browser - as always - though I have gone through all the Internet Explorer 8 and 9 versions, yet now have IE 10 preview version and have to use it. Also, I have used Windows Vista and for the last couple years Windows 7 which makes no difference in the compatibility tab, though I have the latest Windows 7 and new Internet Explorer 10. When I go retro with old OS and IE, I still see the compatibility tab in the URL box.

Often the compatibility tab does not work to fix missing webpage elements or even makes it worse! I read somewhere that this could be a cache issue when this happens.

Can we have an upgrade somehow? GameDev wants to lead in game development forums, so I thought that the staff and technical assistants would appreciate this.


Clinton

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


Sponsor:

#2 Alpha_ProgDes   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 4688

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:34 PM

Can we have an upgrade somehow? GameDev wants to lead in game development forums,

Doesn't GameDev already lead in gamedev forums/sites?
Beginner in Game Development? Read here.
 
Super Mario Bros clone tutorial written in XNA 4.0 [MonoGame, ANX, and MonoXNA] by Scott Haley
 
If you have found any of the posts helpful, please show your appreciation by clicking the up arrow on those posts Posted Image
 
Spoiler

#3 jbadams   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 17937

Posted 07 December 2012 - 11:24 PM

What isn't working or displays incorrectly when you don't use compatibility view?


I just switched to IE9 (on Windows 7) to take a look, and from a quick look everything appears to look and function correctly without using compatibility view. The areas of the site I checked were Classifieds, Marketplace, Journals, and the forums, and I've made both this and my previous reply from internet explorer without problems.


Are there particular areas of the site that aren't working properly for you, or is the whole thing broken? Is there anything unusual in your computer setup or local network, such as an upstream cache that could be interfering?

Is anyone else experiencing problems with Internet Explorer and having to use compatibility view?

#4 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 08 December 2012 - 12:45 AM

Hi,

Compatibility symbol appears when I view any page of the website. When logging into the site, the social network feeds sometimes do not display but a box with an x is in their place, until I click on the compatibility sign. Sometimes most of the text editing tools do not appear until I click compatibility and sometimes I can not post more than one line in the reply text window after clicking it. I have never seen that other than this website.

Some websites which used to cause the compatibility symbol to appear no longer do after I had updated to the latest IE 9 and more recently the preview IE10. Pandora internet radio is an example of this. Some websites such as here still display the compatibility button even after the update and upgrade of IE.

Clinton

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


#5 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 08 December 2012 - 01:08 AM

Also, sometimes the score thru function in the text editor is activated though I did not click the button. When I do click the score-thru button in attempt to deactivate the function, the board does not give me my request. After that, I must refresh the page to get to normal type.

Another issue is that sometimes my typing is not accepted at all - no response.

In all these problems, the compatibility button never disappears from the browser in the URL box.



Clinton

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


#6 jbadams   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 17937

Posted 08 December 2012 - 02:04 AM

Hrm, interesting, I'm not seeing any of the problems you've described when using the site through Internet Explorer. I'll see if I can replicate the problem with any other machines over the next week.


Is there anyone else experiencing similar issues?

Edited by Michael Tanczos, 15 December 2012 - 07:52 PM.


#7 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 08 December 2012 - 10:44 AM

Even at a WiFi location which has amazing fast internet connection speeds, I still get the compatibility sign at top. Sometimes my enter button does not work in this message window as right now. When I check my Profile, the Overview column on the left of the page does not appear until I click the compatibility.

See the score thru? This happened after clicking compatibility tab for this message to you.

Later today or tonight I will get my other laptop and see if there is a difference.


Clinton

Edited by 3Ddreamer, 08 December 2012 - 10:44 AM.

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


#8 Michael Tanczos   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 5182

Posted 08 December 2012 - 02:25 PM

I can't reproduce this either .. hrmm.

#9 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 11 December 2012 - 08:42 PM

Recently I bought a new laptop. It has Windows 7 64-bit and IE 9 with all updates. I still get the compabitlity button appearing in the URL box, but so far no function issues, which I find very strange. I am using this new laptop in the same WiFi as the one of the original post and getting different results.


Clinton

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


#10 jbadams   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 17937

Posted 11 December 2012 - 10:29 PM

Did you encounter the problems on any PCs other than the one you were originally using?

I've tried a few different computers and still been unable to replicate the issues -- the compatibility icon always appears, but if I proceed to use the site without actually turning compatibility view on there aren't actually any display or functionality problems I can find.


The lack of similar reports and fact that we're unable to replicate it suggests there may possibly be some problem on your end.


If anyone else experiences similar issues please let us know so we can try to track it down, but for now this seems to be something specific to 3Dreamer's setup...

#11 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 12 December 2012 - 10:03 PM

I got the typical once per month mega set of updates from Microsoft yesterday and now a big improvement! The Toshiba laptop was the one with most of the misfunctions and now it is much better! This is true even at WiFi spots with bad internet service, so the source of the problems seems to have been in my PC system. I still get delay or nonfunctioning message editor sometimes, but it is very improved. Most of the time it now works okay. The Enter button does not work right now, but I work around it with click or copy and paste to retry the reply.

Thanks for the kind interest in my challenges,


Clinton

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


#12 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 15 December 2012 - 04:44 PM

Its back to gliching, as you can see by this post. Other posts made today were in small print though I did not select it. Also, I cannot skip as line to resume typing and the Enter button does not work. Problems seem to appear at random. This is the ONLY website which does this and only on this computer!!!! There needs to be industry standard for website webpages to eliminate compatibility problems, which I am sure that the anti-regulation fanatics with scream is too much government. (Rolls his eyes)

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


#13 jbadams   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 17937

Posted 15 December 2012 - 09:27 PM

Is this on your new laptop, or back on the original one?

#14 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 15 December 2012 - 09:45 PM

It's the first one - the old Toshiba with the problems viewing GameDev all along.

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


#15 jbadams   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 17937

Posted 15 December 2012 - 10:13 PM

Unfortunately I think this is most likely a problem on your end -- we haven't had any other reports of similar problems, and we haven't been able to replicate any of the problems ourselves.

All I can really suggest is to stick to the newer laptop when visiting the site if possible, or try a different web-browser (Chrome or Firefox are very popular choices) that doesn't experience the problems. As much as we'd love to help you, we can't really do anything when we're unable to identify or replicate the problem and no-one else appears to be effected.


If anyone else experiences these issues please let us know!

#16 3Ddreamer   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 3133

Posted 16 December 2012 - 10:29 PM

In the Special BBCode function - 3rd button on the top of the text editor ribbon - it wants me to select a BBC code. Which should I have?

Personal life and your private thoughts always effect your career. Research is the intellectual backbone of game development and the first order. Version Control is crucial for full management of applications and software.  The better the workflow pipeline, then the greater the potential output for a quality game.  Completing projects is the last but finest order.

 

by Clinton, 3Ddreamer


#17 jbadams   Senior Staff   -  Reputation: 17937

Posted 16 December 2012 - 11:21 PM

Whichever you want...

That option just provides a way of selecting options which may not otherwise be exposed via toolbar buttons in the editor.

#18 SuperVGA   Members   -  Reputation: 1118

Posted 17 December 2012 - 01:16 PM

I'm on my phone now so it's a bit less comfortable to check the markup,
but take a look at X-UA-Compatible-Content and the IIS setting mentioned in this S.O. thrrad:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/6156639/x-ua-compatible-is-set-to-ie-edge-but-it-still-doesnt-stop-compatibility-mode

I've had success with the former approach, though it seems the second is more general and perhaps more appropriate.




Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.



PARTNERS