• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Awfully many sprites, what to do?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 iwantoski   Members   -  Reputation: 113

0Likes

Posted 13 December 2012 - 06:26 PM

(I think this is my first post here, so I guess a greet is in order: Ohai, thanks for having me!)

Mornin',

My goal is to create something close to what BrowserQuest is, but in Java using LWJGL (of which I am a newbie of both).

So far it pretty much works as intended. I'm using ARB_Texture_Rectangle to load sprite sheets, I'm reading my PNG files correctly and am able to specify which tile I want to use, and render it. Got animations working based on time delta for each update and so on. Again, works as expected.

I am doing a few more sprites per frame visible compared to BrowserQuest (honest guess). I'm working a 960x512 display, with 16x16 tiles. This sums to 1920 tiles to render my "map". This is excluding multiple layers, players and objects (such as swords, npcs etc).
Currently, how I've done it is that I'm reading an xml file (or tmx) generated by the Tiled app. Each tile is specifically specified, and unless it's 0 I draw a sprite.

I am worried about the fact that I need to render at the very least 1920 tiles just to render a frame.

I'm currently capping my frame rate at 60 using the Display.sync(60). I don't experience lag, flicker or anything alike as of today - however I am worried about the fact that I might be going about this the wrong way?

As of now I'm clearing the whole screen which maybe that isn't necessary. Is there a way to clear a specific part of the screen? I'm clearing the full screen using glClear() passing color and depth buffer enums.