• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

How hard is it to make a game if… ?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
32 replies to this topic

#1 Revs   Members   -  Reputation: 149

0Likes

Posted 14 December 2012 - 11:59 AM

.. I have no experience but I'm just putting already existing stuff together?

I'm wanting to make my own game but I actually don't have any experience at all (this probably sounds familiar to you).

However, in my case, my plan was that I'd only use stuff that already exists. Say I need a city, and some highways, and some vehicles: You can find all of it online. I'd like to start with the map, and I do have some 3D skills (studied architecture so we had to design houses and stuff).

Basically I'd like to just take stuff and put it all together. I don't plan on selling this, it's just for fun.

I have checked out Unity and I was hoping to put everything together in there. It's meant to be a driving game by the way.

So… am I dreaming? I don't know any language (well except web languages but they won't be of any help) and I surely won't give up my social life to learn another language now. I don't want this as a job anyway and I'm not interesting in the gaming industry. This is really just for pure fun (maybe that's the problem).

I was thinking maybe a team or something would be more ideal. I don't want to start this and then years later find out I'm not even near to my goal and having wasted all that time on it. Would be a shame!

Tell me your thoughts people :)

Greets