• Create Account

Calling all IT Pros from Canada and Australia.. we need your help! Support our site by taking a quick sponsored surveyand win a chance at a $50 Amazon gift card. Click here to get started!

How to change disciplines, and get people to stop thinking about what I currently do?

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1 the_grimace   Members   -  Reputation: 117

0Likes

Posted 16 December 2012 - 03:27 AM

Hi all,

I'm a sound designer and audio engineer that has been working in the game industry as an audio designer for about 3 years now. However, I've always been interested in production work as well, and to me, just being to work in the industry making games is more important than what capacity I do that in. Honestly, I know I can be a great asset in either an audio design or production role, but up until now, I have done the audio path.

However, over the last year and a half I've been trying to pursue open production jobs (assistant producer, associate producer - most of these require only 1-3 years of experience) and I rarely get even an email or peep from the company. The kicker is that over the last year, I've had three companies contact me about the Production position I applied too, only to tell me what a wonderful audio demo and career I had, and that they feel I would fit much better with them as an audio designer... and that they will keep me on file for the next opening. I guess that is a win in some ways, but to me I feel like what's happening is that people are seeing my audio experience and scoffing off the production potential I have.