• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

Modernized text-based RPG

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
1 reply to this topic

#1 BoredAstronaut   Members   -  Reputation: 121

3Likes

Posted 18 December 2012 - 02:10 PM

I have begun work on a game. My initial focus is currently on the game mechanics, but I also have a background for the setting. But I believe that the same mechanics would work in a variety of settings, just as any gameplay genre (shooter, RPG, RTS, etc) can support a variety of different settings.

The motivation for the game design comes from the fact that while I am a professional programmer and software developer, and an experienced writer, I am not an artist (discounting amateur work), and have virtually no experience making real graphical assets for games. More importantly, I am working on this alone, for now, and don't have time to also learn computer illustration and make enough artwork to fill an RPG (even a top-down 2d one).

My starting point was the idea of the multi-user dungeon, or MUD, but for one person. Which led back to old-school, room-based text adventures. But I also have experience with pen-and-paper RPGs. These are primarily text-based, but also use some graphics, like maps and drawings. Some players also use miniatures, but that is primarily to assist in combat mechanics (line of sight, cover, reach, etc).

Unlike classic text-based games, I do not want to require the user to type input. I want a modern user interface with an intuitive layout and modern GUI controls. But the content of the experience is text-based: descriptions of places, characters, objects and events.