• Create Account

Interested in a FREE copy of HTML5 game maker Construct 2?

We'll be giving away three Personal Edition licences in next Tuesday's GDNet Direct email newsletter!

Sign up from the right-hand sidebar on our homepage and read Tuesday's newsletter for details!

unrelated programming skills

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 Focas   Members   -  Reputation: 109

0Likes

Posted 20 December 2012 - 10:28 AM

Hi there,

I'm a C# programmer and I want to be a game programmer. But I have some doubts about it.

1.how important is to know about concept art, character design, and all these others fields in game development?
2. I'm completely lost in what language i have to learn first...

Thanks!

Sponsor:

#2 Servant of the Lord   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 20247

2Likes

Posted 20 December 2012 - 10:47 AM

1) If you are a programmer, you don't need to know how to mark art. That's the artist's job. You should know how to make poor quality temporary placeholder art, though. It is important to be able to convey the general idea of what you are looking for - but then to leave the creative work to the artist or musician or whatever without being too micro-managing.

2) You start with the language you know: in this case, C#. It really really does not matter what language you begin with, as long as you stick with it for several good years - plan to stick with it for 3-5 years to really understand programming at a deep level.

Edited by Servant of the Lord, 20 December 2012 - 10:47 AM.

It's perfectly fine to abbreviate my username to 'Servant' rather than copy+pasting it all the time.
All glory be to the Man at the right hand... On David's throne the King will reign, and the Government will rest upon His shoulders. All the earth will see the salvation of God.