• Create Account

We're offering banner ads on our site from just $5!

1. Details HERE. 2. GDNet+ Subscriptions HERE. 3. Ad upload HERE.

C++ Graphics help.

Old topic!
Guest, the last post of this topic is over 60 days old and at this point you may not reply in this topic. If you wish to continue this conversation start a new topic.

• You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 CryoGenesis   Members   -  Reputation: 496

0Likes

Posted 01 January 2013 - 11:13 AM

Hey there, I've been programming in Java for 2 years and I've recently gotten hold of a NVidia GTX 660. I want to work on my own 3D rendering program but I have no idea how to draw 2D Images to the screen in C++. I know how to do it in Java but C++ looks a little bit more complicated when it comes to making windows. 

I'm using Ubuntu 12.10 64-bit and using NVidia's nvcc compiler which uses gcc and g++.

All I want to do is draw a 2D image to the screen. No GUI, no window borders, just an image.

One idea I had was to set up a socket connection between a C++ app and a Java app which sends the pixel data over my computer to the Java app which displays the image but I think that may be a bit slow (I have no idea).

Is there a way to do this without any external libraries? Can I do this with just the gcc and g++ includes?

Any help is appreciated and I'll give +1 rep for any helpful answers.

Sponsor:

#2 GeneralQuery   Crossbones+   -  Reputation: 1263

2Likes

Posted 01 January 2013 - 11:22 AM

C++ as a language has no concept of graphics so you'll have to use some sort of API/library to do your rendering/window setup. SDL is a popular choice, as is SFML and GLFW. Maybe elaborate on what you wish to achieve short and long term to get more accurate responses.

#3 CryoGenesis   Members   -  Reputation: 496

0Likes

Posted 01 January 2013 - 11:26 AM